About the Project

Economic growth and increasing consumption rates in emerging economies and young EU member states do often encounter certain development lags in the waste management systems of these countries. The systems Germany and other EU members have established show that efficient waste management has many benefits and facilitates the decoupling of economic growth from resource consumption.

An efficient waste management does not only contribute to economic growth but also generates a higher quality of life, especially in metropolitan areas and shows a high potential for global climate change mitigation as well as resource efficiency.

Germany has pledged to support countries in the development of advanced waste management systems. As part of these the efforts, the German Environment Agency (UBA) funds the project “Identification and transfer of waste management concepts, services and products” that is implemented between March 2015 and December 2017.

 


Project Status

Croatia / Iran, August 2017: Result reports published

The project partners have summarized the results of the country workshops in result reports. The documents summarize the most important findings of the country studies and supplement them with the recommendations for actions discussed with the Iranian and Croatian actors for the further development of the respective waste management sector.

The results report for Iran can be downloaded here, the one for Croatia here.

 

 

Turkey, March 2017: Country study for Turkey is published

The country study consists of a detailed analysis of Turkey’s waste management sector. It gives an overview of the current situation of the waste management sector, identifies development potentials and provides suggestions on further developments of the sector. The country report has the following structure and provides information in the following areas:

  • Country background information
  • Environmental law and policy
  • Waste generation and treatment
  • Financing of waste management
  • The role of the private sector in waste management
  • Know-how and technology transfer

The country study can be accessed here.

 

Bulgaria, Mach 2017: Bulgaria country study is published and workshop took place in Sofia

The country study consists of a detailed analysis of Bulgaria’s waste management sector. It gives an overview of the current situation of the waste management sector, identifies development potentials and provides suggestions on further developments of the sector. The country report has the following structure and provides information in the following areas:

  • Country background information
  • Environmental law and policy
  • Waste generation and treatment
  • Financing of waste management
  • The role of the private sector in waste management
  • Know-how and technology transfer

The country study can be accessed here.

After releasing the country study on the 7th of March 2017 a workshop was hosted as a parallel event to the annual “Save The Planet” exhibition and conference and gathered nearly 60 participants from national and local waste management and politics together with representatives from reputable German companies, associations and from the Ministry of Environment.
Further information on the results and the presentations that were given during the workshop can be accessed here.

Iran, February 2017: Iran country study is published and workshop took place in Teheran

The country study offers a detailed analysis of Iran’s waste management sector. It gives an overview of the current situation of the waste management sector, identifies development potentials and provides suggestions on further developments of the sector. The country report has the following structure and provides information in the following areas:

  • Country background information
  • Environmental law and policy
  • Waste generation and treatment
  • Financing of waste management
  • The role of the private sector in waste management
  • Know-how and technology transfer

The country study can be accessed here.
The short version of the country study is available in German and Farsi.

The workshop was realised as part of the "Iran-Germany Waste Management Initiative" that had been founded by the Iranian partners. Therefore, the more than 200 participants did not only include Iranian and German waste sector representatives but also high-level politicians from both sides.
Further information on the results and the presentations that were given during the workshop can be accessed here.

Croatia, October 2016: Croatia country study is published & workshop took place in Zagreb

Croatia’s waste management sector has significant development potentials. In order to increase compliance with the European Union’s waste regulations, financial and technical support is needed. These are the conclusions of the country study on Croatia’s waste management sector that was published in October 2016.
The study provides an overview of the current situation of Croatia’s waste management and identifies fields for future cooperation of Croatia’s and Germany’s waste management sector. Among the most significant potentials for cooperation are the development of treatment and technology concepts as well as the provision of technical equipment for waste facilities.


The country study can be accessed here.


After the country study had been published, the Croatia country workshop took place in Zagreb on 26–28 October 2016. About 80 participants attended the event, including representatives from Croatian waste companies, municipalities and academia, as well as small and medium-sized companies from the German waste management sector.


Further information on the results and the presentations that were given during the workshop can be accessed here.


 

The project aims at supporting the four project countries Bulgaria, Croatia, Turkey and Iran in further advancing their waste management sectors. For each country, appropriate development potentials will be identified considering the following areas:

  • Policy development
  • Technology transfer
  • Financing mechanisms
  • Awareness and education

Proposals for interventions will be developed in country studies that take into account each country’s specific waste sector conditions. The transfer of waste management concepts, services and products must match the individual country’s background and contribute to tailor-made progress in the national waste management sectors. Results will be discussed with national waste management stakeholders in country workshops. Towards the end of the project a closing conference will be held in Germany where the results and experiences from all countries will be shared to facilitate learning between the countries.

 

The project structure is as follows:

Project structure English

Über das Projekt

Wirtschaftswachstum und steigende Konsumraten in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern sowie jungen EU-Mitgliedstaaten stehen häufig einer verzögerten Entwicklung der Abfallmanagementsysteme dieser Länder gegenüber. Die Systeme, die  Deutschland und anderen EU-Mitglieder etabliert haben, zeigen, dass eine effiziente Abfallwirtschaft viele Vorteile hat und die Entkopplung des Wirtschaftswachstums vom Ressourcenverbrauch ermöglicht.

Ein effizientes Abfallmanagement trägt nicht nur zu Wirtschaftswachstum bei, sondern erzeugt auch eine höhere Lebensqualität, vor allem in Ballungsräumen, und weist ein hohes Potenzial für Klimaschutz und Ressourceneffizienz auf.

Deutschland hat sich verpflichtet, Länder bei der Entwicklung von fortschrittlichen Abfallmanagementsystemen zu unterstützen. Im Rahmen dieser Bemühungen fördert das Umweltbundesamt (UBA), das Projekt "Identifizierung und Transfer von Abfallwirtschaftskonzepten, Dienstleistungen und Produkte", das zwischen März 2015 und Dezember 2017 durchgeführt wird.

 


Projektfortschritte

Kroatien / Iran, August 2017: Ergebnispublikationen veröffentlicht

Die Projektpartner haben die Ergebnisse der Länderworkshops in Ergebnispublikationen zusammengefasst. Die Dokumente fassen die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse der Länderstudien zusammen und ergänzen diese um die mit den iranischen sowie kroatischen Akteuren diskutierten Handlungsempfehlungen für die Weiterentwicklung des jeweiligen Abfallsektors.

Die Ergebnispublikation für Iran kann hier, die für Kroatien hier heruntergeladen werden.

 

Türkei, März 2017: Veröffentlichung der Länderstudie Türkei

Die Länderstudie umfasst eine detaillierte Analyse der Abfallwirtschaft der Türkei. Sie gibt einen Überblick über die aktuelle Situation der Abfallwirtschaft, zeigt Entwicklungspotenziale auf und präsentiert Vorschläge für die weitere Entwicklung des Sektors. Die Länderstudie hat folgende Struktur und enthält Informationen für die folgenden Bereiche:

  • Länderhintergrundinformationen
  • Umweltrecht und –politik
  • Abfallerzeugung und –behandlung
  • Finanzierung der Abfallwirtschaft
  • Die Rolle des Privatsektors in der Abfallwirtschaft
  • Know-how und Technologietransfer

Die Länderstudie kann hier abgerufen werden.

 

Bulgarien, März 2017: Veröffentlichung der Länderstudie Bulgarien & Durchführung des Workshops in Sofia

Die Länderstudie umfasst eine detaillierte Analyse der Abfallwirtschaft von Bulgarien. Sie gibt einen Überblick über die aktuelle Situation der Abfallwirtschaft, zeigt Entwicklungspotenziale auf und präsentiert Vorschläge für die weitere Entwicklung des Sektors. Die Länderstudie hat folgende Struktur und enthält Informationen für die folgenden Bereiche:

  • Länderhintergrundinformationen
  • Umweltrecht und –politik
  • Abfallerzeugung und –behandlung
  • Finanzierung der Abfallwirtschaft
  • Die Rolle des Privatsektors in der Abfallwirtschaft
  • Know-how und Technologietransfer

Die Länderstudie kann hier abgerufen werden.

Der Workshop wurde nach Veröffentlichung der Länderstudie am 7. März 2017 als Parallelevent zur jährlich stattfindenden Umwelttechnikausstellung und –konferenz „Save The Planet“ durchgeführt und versammelte knapp 60 Teilnehmer aus der nationalen und lokalen Abfallwirtschaft und Politik gemeinsam mit deutschen Vertretern von namhaften Unternehmen, Verbänden und vom Umweltministerium.
Weitere Informationen zu den Ergebnissen des Workshops sowie die Präsentationen finden Sie hier.


Iran, Februar 2017: Veröffentlichung der Länderstudie Iran & Durchführung des Workshops in Teheran

Die Länderstudie umfasst eine detaillierte Analyse der Abfallwirtschaft vom Iran. Sie gibt einen Überblick über die aktuelle Situation der Abfallwirtschaft, zeigt Entwicklungspotenziale auf und präsentiert Vorschläge für die weitere Entwicklung des Sektors. Die Länderstudie hat folgende Struktur und enthält Informationen für die folgenden Bereiche:

  • Länderhintergrundinformationen
  • Umweltrecht und –politik
  • Abfallerzeugung und –behandlung
  • Finanzierung der Abfallwirtschaft
  • Die Rolle des Privatsektors in der Abfallwirtschaft
  • Know-how und Technologietransfer

Die Länderstudie kann hier abgerufen werden.
Eine Kurzversion der Länderstudie ist sowohl auf Deutsch, als auch auf Farsi verfügbar.

Der Workshop war eingebettet in eine Konferenz der eigens von den iranischen Partnern gegründeten „Iran-Germany Waste Management Initiative“. Der Teilnehmerkreis von mehr als 200 Personen umfasste daher neben Vertretern der iranischen und der deutschen Abfallwirtschaft auch hochrangige Politiker beider Seiten.
Weitere Informationen zu den Ergebnissen des Workshops sowie die Präsentationen finden Sie hier.

Kroatien, Oktober 2016: Veröffentlichung der Länderstudie Kroatien & Durchführung des Workshops in Zagreb

Die kroatische Abfallwirtschaft verfügt über hohe Entwicklungsreserven. Mithilfe finanzieller und fachlicher Unterstützung kann eine Annäherung an die abfallwirtschaftlichen Vorgaben der Europäischen Union erreicht werden. Zu diesem Schluss kommt die Länderstudie zur Situation der Abfallwirtschaft Kroatiens, die im Oktober 2016 veröffentlicht wurde.
Die Studie gibt einen Überblick über die aktuelle Situation der kroatischen Abfallwirtschaft und identifiziert Bereiche, die sich besonders für die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit der kroatischen und deutschen Abfallwirtschaft eignen. Die größten Potenziale für abfallwirtschaftliche Kooperation liegen demnach in der Anpassung von Behandlungs- und Technologiekonzepten, der technischen Ausstattung abfallwirtschaftlicher Anlagen, sowie der Förderung des Sekundärmaterialabsatzes.


Die Studie kann hier abgerufen werden.


Nach Veröffentlichung der Länderstudie fand vom 26. bis 28. Oktober 2016 in Zagreb der Länderworkshop Kroatien statt. Der Teilnehmerkreis umfasste ca. 80 Vertreter fachinteressierter kroatischer Unternehmen, Kommunen und akademischer Einrichtungen, sowie kleine und mittlere Unternehmen der deutschen Abfallwirtschaft.


Weitere Informationen zu den Ergebnissen des Workshops sowie die Präsentationen finden Sie hier.



 

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, die vier Projektländer Bulgarien, Kroatien, die Türkei und Iran bei der Weiterentwicklung der Abfallwirtschaft zu unterstützen. Für jedes Land werden relevante Fortentwicklungspotenziale identifiziert. Dabei wird insbesondere ein Fokus auf die folgenden Bereiche gelegt:

  • Politische Rahmenbedingungen
  • Technologietransfer
  • Finanzierungsmechanismen
  • Bildung und Sensibilisierung

Vorschläge für konkrete Maßnahmen werden in Rahmen von Länderstudien analysiert und dargestellt. Die Studien berücksichtigen die spezifischen Bedingungen im Abfallsektor des jeweiligen Landes. Der Transfer von Abfallwirtschaftskonzepten, Dienstleistungen und Produkten muss zur Situation des einzelnen Landes passen. Die Ergebnisse der Studien werden mit den zentralen nationalen Akteuren im Abfallsektor der jeweiligen Länder in länderspezifischen Workshops diskutiert. Zum Ende des Projekts findet eine Abschlusskonferenz in Deutschland statt, auf der die Ergebnisse und Erfahrungen aus allen Ländern vorgestellt werden, um Lernerfahrungen unter den Ländern zu ermöglichen.

 

Die Projektstruktur ist wie folgt:

Project structure Deutsch